Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

Cancer researcher Maria Kavallaris AM is NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year

Internationally renowned scientist Professor Maria Kavallaris AM has been named the 2020 NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year – the top honour at the NSW Women of the Year awards.

Prof. Kavallaris accepted the award from Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor at the WOTY Awards ceremony in Sydney today.

“Maria is a remarkable achiever whose ground-breaking research has led to more effective therapies for aggressive childhood cancers,” Ms Berejiklian said.

A further six outstanding women from across NSW took out the top spot in their nominated category, ranging from community heroes to lifetime achievers.

“Congratulations to all the incredible women who have deservedly been recognised; their achievements are an inspiration to women who want to make a difference.” Ms Berejiklian said.

Mrs Taylor said this year’s awards program attracted an unprecedented number of nominations and more than 7,000 votes in the publicly decided categories.

“Be it science, industry, business or community; every part of NSW has benefited from the outstanding contributions made by women,” Mrs Taylor said.

“You can’t be what you can’t see; so please join me in celebrating these women and sharing their stories of success to help improve the lives of girls and young women across our state.”

2020 NSW Women of the Year Award winners are:

  • Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year – Professor Maria Kavallaris AM
  • Aboriginal Woman of the Year – Kirli Saunders
  • Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year – Krystaal Hinds
  • First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award – Christine Strachan
  • Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year – Hannah Beder
  • Community Hero Award – Justine Lorenz
  • NSW Business Woman of the Year – Anneke van den Broek