Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
Director Ignatius Jones and PH Ambassador Belen Anota..JCadelina photo

Artistic Director Ignatius Jones, Filipino Australian of the Year


Ignatius Jones, left, with Sen Concetta Fierravanti-Wells and Monica Trapaga
Ignatius Jones, left, with Sen Concetta Fierravanti-Wells and Monica Trapaga  photo JCadelina

The boy from Singalong, Manila who grew up and made good in Australia’s entertainment world was voted  the Filipino-Australian of the Year by the umbrella body  Filipino  Community Council of  Australia (FILCCA) last Saturday 25 October at the conclusion of the biennial FILCCA National Conference in Parramatta City, Western Sydney.

Mr Ignatius Jones is one of the world’s leading Major Event Directors, Creative Strategists and Event Script Writers. He is a member of the Spanish-Filipino Trapaga clan who migrated to Australia when he was a boy.  Sydney entertainment celebrity Monica Trapaga of the “Play School” TV fame is Ignatius’ sister.

In a glittering ceremony at the  Novotel hotel in Parramatta attended by delegates of Filipino-Australian peak bodies from six Australian states,  Mr Jones was recognised for his achievements as writer and acclaimed director of four major international events, namely the 2000 Sydney Olympic Ceremonies, DOHA 2006 Asian Games Ceremonies, Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Ceremonies and the Opening of Shanghai2010 World Expo.

The FILCCA National Conference  gave the award to Jones along with other community achievement awards to outstanding individuals and community organisations. FILCCA delegates gather every  two years in a conference to review its targets and advocacies, elects its national executive committee, and confer the FILCCA achievement awards at the conclusion of the gathering.

Sydney grandparents George and Baby Punzalan received a special FILCCA award in behalf of Marlisa Punzalan, 15, winner of the 2014 X Factor TV talent search contest.

FILCCA re-elected  Adelaide solicitor Mrs Aida Garcia (South Australia) as president. The other officers are Perlita Swinbank ( ACT), vice president external; Cecile Wheare (Victoria),vice president internal;  Bobby Lastica (New South Wales), vice president youth; Cholly Winter (South Australia) Secretary; Serna Ladia, (New South Wales), Treasurer; and Dante Maribay (West Australia), PRO.

Summary of 2014 FILCCA Awardees: –  Fedelina Donaghue (ACT) –  Leadership Award ACT; RONDANIHAN,(ACT)   Outstanding Community Organisation

Nestor Jongko (WA), Filipino Australian Achiever; Marino Salinas, Leadership Award (WA); Australian Club of Mandurah, Outstanding Community Organisation (WA)

 Manuel Asuncion (Vic), Filipino Australian Achiever Award; Sherlita Hart (Vic), Leadership Award Vic; Mark Feleciano, Youth Achievement Award ; Philippine Languages School of Victoria, Outstanding Community Organisation;

Florcefina Cruz,  Filipino Australian Achiever Award Qld; Efren Altez, Leadership Award Qld; Ipswich Filipino Australian Association, Outstanding Community Organisation-Qld;

Aida Garcia, Filipino Australian Achiever Award ; Sulpicio Cordero Jr, , Leadership Award SA; Sampaguita Dance Group, Outstanding Community Organisation, SA.

Alfredo Roces, Fiipino Australian Achiever Award; Joy Robinson, Leadership Award, NSW; Campbelltown and Region Filipino Communities Council, Outstanding Community Organisation.