Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
Top 6 Senators

Top 6 Senators Proclaimed by Comelec

Top 6 Senators
Top 6 senators proclaimed

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC) proclaimed the top six winners for Senators after three days of counting at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC).


Dominated by the administration’s Team PNoy, the top six includes three neophytes, and three re-electionists.


Grace Poe, remained on top, followed by Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano, Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero, Nancy Binay, and Edgardo ‘Sonny’ Angara Jr.


They are accompanied by their family and loved ones during the proclamation and will assume their new post on June 30.


These six were proclaimed based on 72 certificate of canvass (COCs) out of 301. Their victories are already guaranteed even 76% of vote certificates have yet to be canvassed.


The partial official counts were: Grace Poe – 6,978,111; Loren Legarda – 6,405,625; Alan Cayetano – 5,989,369; Chiz Escudero – 5,944,573; Nancy Binay – 5,787,423; Sonny Angara – 5,593,601


Binay who was absent during the proclamation is the only one in the top six from the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).


UNA earlier requested to suspend the proclamation because of allegations of anomalies in the computerized count but was denied by the poll body.


The NBOC failed to proclaim the 12 senators within 48 hours as it previously promised due to the delay in the transmission of COCs from polling precincts around the country.


The rest of the magic 12 are expected to be proclaimed by Saturday according to Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr.

Corabelle is the Bayanihan's Phillippine News Correspondent.