Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
Multicultura Leaders Awards

NSW Premier’s Multicultural (Leaders) Awards

Nine outstanding leaders of ethnic communities in NSW have been recognised in the inaugural Premier’s Multicultural Awards, held in a ceremony at the NSW Parliament.
NSW Premier Barrie O’Farrell said,”These people are champions of their communities who have dedicated so much of their lives to advancing our multicultural society in NSW.
“The real heroes of multiculturalism are the leaders who advocate for their communities and work with the government to promote harmony and achieve positive outcome for all citizens.”
For his part, Minister for Citizenship and Communities M. Victor Dominello said community leaders are those who reach out to others and help all citizens come to understand and appreciate the benefits of living in a multicultural society.

“These multicultural leaders are greatly contributing to our culture, economy and way of life by building understanding and appreciation of our differences,” Dominello said.
The awards program was administered by the Community  Relations Commission (CRC) of NSW and covered the six categories of Youth, lifetime, Arts and Culture, Regional, Community or Interfaith and Economic Participation.

Community Relations Commission Chair Mr. Stepan Kerkyasharian said,”The success of our multicultural society here in NSW is due most entirely to the unstinting dedication and hard work of leaders like those recognised by the Premiers Awards.

The winners of the inaugural Premier’s Multicultural Awards are:

Youth – Miss Jasmeem Kaur Mahotra, for her outstanding service as a young adult in promoting multiculturalism to a vast majority of audience.

Lifetime Community Service (Two Winners) – Ms. Josephine Lacey, OAM, for her dedicated service over thirty years to the promotion of interfaith and inter-communal harmony, and achievements in multiculturalism spanning social justice, anti-racism, women’s rights and children’s rights.  Mr. Anthony Mustaca, OAM, for his dedicated service over forty years providing support, assistance and promotion of numerous charities and community organisations.

Arts and Culture – Mr Simon Chan, for his promotion through a range of voluntary activities, of multiculturalism across communities and organisations.

Regional Communities – Mr. Nasser Sedghi, for his exceptional contribution in the promotion of multiculturalism in Dubbo as a founder of the Dubbo Multicultural Festival.

Community or Interfaith Harmony (Two Winners) – Mrs. Mona Goubran for her voluntary service to assist migrants, the promotion of art, and her active support and involvement in community organisations.    Dr. Amin Hady – Imam of the Zetland Mosque, for his exceptional successful   commitment to the promotion of interfaith dialogue, harmony and community development.

Economic Participation – Mr. Jimmy Liu, Chief Executive Officer, United World Enterprises. In recognition of his leadership of United World Enterprise in promoting trade between nations, primarily in agriculture sector.

Special Citation – Mr. Sudhir Warrier, in recognition of his entrepreneurship as Chairman of the Australian Cruise group, for providing employment and learning opportunities to its multicultural staff.