Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

New UP Alumni Australia NSW Chapter officers

Six women from different UP campuses have been inducted as the new officers of the University of the Philippines Alumni Association of Australia – New South Wales Chapter (UPAAA-NSW) for the term 2020 to 2022.

PHOTO – From left: Lourdes Katague (Internal Auditor), Tiffi Ramos (President), Mica Arellano (Treasurer), Alice Bergonia (Secretary), Carmela Brion (External Vice President) and Cherry Dizon-Sy (Internal Vice President).

Leading the pack is the new President, Tiffi Ramos, a BA Psychology graduate of UP Diliman. “It’s an honor to lead UPAAA. This is indeed an exciting year for all the UP alumni here in Sydney and Canberra as we are celebrating our milestone 40th anniversary this 2020”, said Ramos.

“The UPAAA is one of the longest-running Filipino associations in Australia. We are a solid group, and we are calling on our fellow UP alumni to help us prepare for our 40th birthday celebrations this coming October—let’s all make it one for the books!”, added Ramos.

The rest of the newly inducted officers are:

  • External Vice President: Carmela Brion, UPLB – BS Economics (with Honors)
  • Internal Vice President: Cherry Dizon-Sy, UPD – BS Electronics & Comms Engineering
  • Secretary: Alice Bergonia, UPLB – BS Agriculture, MS Environmental Science
  • Treasurer: Mica Angelique Arellano, UPD – BS Chemistry (Cum Laude)
  • Internal Auditor: Lourdes Katague, UPD – BS Education

UPAAA’s regular guest of honor, Consul General Ezzedin Tago from the Philippine Consulate in Sydney, inducted the new officers and new members at the Max Webber Library in Blacktown.

A line up of events leading to UPAAA’s 40th anniversary celebrations will be posted soon at and For further details, please direct message UPAAA on their Facebook page or email