Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

Colmenares: Cha-cha derailment an assertion of Ph independence

QUEZON CITY, Philippines – Senior Deputy Minority Leader Rep. Neri Colmenares today called the initial victory last night of Charter change derailment at the House of Representative as an assertion of Philippine independence against foreign interests.
“Cha-cha’s derailment last night is a good assertion of our country’s independence and very timely for our commemoration of Independence Day tomorrow. I am thankful that people’s organizations like the Kilusang Magbubukid ng Pilipinas (KMP) and the Bagong Alyansang Makabayan (BAYAN) for holding a vigil to guard against Charter Change. It is no small feat to mobilize thousands to protect our lands, patrimony and sovereignty and I am glad that they are keeping watch,” said Rep. Colmenares.
“As it is though, we are glad members of the House did not push through with the Cha-cha vote because it would only exacerbate the poverty of the Filipino people. We need genuine land reform and national industrialization instead of this obsession with foreign investors and foreign led development programs,” he added.
As for his part Rep. Carlos Zarate said, “this is just a temporary reprieve though and the fight against Cha-cha continues. We have to continue to educate the people of the rapacious effects of these proposed amendments on the protectionist economic provisions of the Constitution. In the end, we are just representatives of our people who are the decisive force to finally stop this Cha-cha,”
“We don’t need this Cha-cha: the proposed amendments are detrimental to our economic sovereignty, to our national patrimony, to our people,” ended Rep. Zarate.

Criselda Cabangon David, a happy mother of two kids, is a full-time Sociologist at the City Government of Lucena, Quezon Province. She is currently the Managing Editor of Ang Diaryo Natin Sunday News, a weekly local community newspaper in the Philippines and an active member of the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines.