Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

NSW Multicultural Media Honoured

NSW Multicultural Awards
Millie of the Kalatas (middle) and Katrina (fourth from left) pose with members of the FilPress during the NSW Multicultural Awards night.

Sydney Feb. 28 – A Turkish-language newspaper published in Sydney was named Best Print Publication of the Year at the inaugural Premier’s Multicultural Awards in Sydney tonight.

Zaman, one of the seven Turkish-language papers published in Sydney, is an Australian edition of Zaman International, a leading daily newspaper in Istanbul.

The Filipino monthly newspaper Ang Kalatas which won in the category of Best Use of Online Digital Media, was also a finalist along with the fortnightly  Indian Link.

Awards  were announced in 10 categories across print, radio and online news media including the Best Investigative Story of the Year awarded to Bahrain born Katrina Yu, of Filipino and Chinese parents.  of SBS World News program, for her interview of a Somali migrant who has experienced female genitalia mutilation.

The lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Anwar Harb, Editor-in-Chief of An Nahar Weekly and to Mr. Simon Ko, Executive Officer of the daily Sing Tao Chinese language newspaper.

Addressing the Awards presentation, Premier Barry O’Farrel said,”Great democracies live or die on the strength of their news media. In this state we have a mountain community media in every format and in many languages, to supplement the work of the daily mainstream news providers.

“It is not surprising that our democracy is the envy of many around the world. No person in NSW needs to be uninformed or ill-informed about politics, health, legal issues or entertainment due to lack of English.

“The NSW Government want to recognise excellence in Journalism in our non-English and multicultural community news outlets and to encourage its ongoing development.”

Minister for Citizenship and communities Victor Dominello said more than 120 entries were received for these awards.

“The number and outstanding standards of the entries is testament to the commitment and enthusiasm of the multicultural  media sector, ” Dominello said.

“The awards also assist mainstream media and the broader NSW community to recognise multicultural media as powerful resource in our community.

Two dramatic stories produced by the Hindi Language Program on SBS Radio were joint winners in the Best Radio report of the Year Award.

A story about the drowning death of two Punjabis during a picnic at  Byrin Bay warned of the danger for new migrants and visitors to Australia of entering the ocean without swimming experience.

The second item dealt with allegations of forced religious conversions and marriages of young women in Pakistan. The award went to the program’s executive director Ms. Kumud Merani.

The Best Commentary of the Year wen to Hani El Turk of the Arabic daily Newspaper El Telegraph for an article outlining police warnings about the illegal practice of female circumcision or genetalia circumcision in NSW, explaining that there’s nothing in Islamic Law that allows such practices.

The full list of the awards follow:

Best Radio Report of the Year – Joint winner Kumud Merani, SBS Hindi radio Program, on drowning of two Punjabi; and to Kumud Merani, SBS Hindi radio program: SBS Radio Hindi Program on alleged Hindu girls forced marriage.

Best News report of the Year: Indian Link newspaper for ambitious 4-part report “Literature of the Anguish,” awarded to Rajni Anand Kuthra, editor-in-chief  and Pawan Luthra, Publisher.

Best Editorial/Commentary of the Year – Winner – Remey Wehbe, general manager of El Telegraph, for writer Hani El Turk’s editorial on female circumcision;

Best Print Publication for the Year – awarded to Enes Cansever, for Zaman International

Best Use of Online and Digital Media – awarded to Millie Philips, for Ang Kalatas news web site

Best Online Publication of the Year – awarded to editor-in-chief Rajni Anand Luthra of India Link

Best Image of the Year – awarded to Rajni Anand Luthra, editor-in-chief of Indian Link for image by amateur photographer Mala Mehta;

Best Article on Multiculturalism –  awarded to Tanju Yenisev and Oliver Haute SBS Radio Turkish Program and SBS Radio German Program for 3-part joint report “Has Multiculturalism” Failed”

Best Feature of the Year warded to joint winner Naomi Tsvirko, for report of writer’s Grandmother who lost her husband during the war and to joint winner Anine Kazzi. For Behind the Riot, featiure story;

Best Investigative Story of the Year – awarded to Kristina Yu, for interview of Faduma Salah Musse

Lifetime Contribution Award – to Anwar Harb, editor-in-chief if An Nahar; and to Simon Ko, of Sing Tao Chinese newspaper

[nggallery id=1]