Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
Little Lights by Marie Rivelle Mallari

MMDA Calls on Public to Support MMFF Entries, including New Wave ‘Indie’ Films

Little Lights by Marie Rivelle Mallari
Little Lights by Marie Rivelle Mallari

MANILA, Philippines – Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Emerson Carlos today called on the public to patronize the films that will be showcased during the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) this year, especially the New Wave Section.
“These are quality films that will be going up against big budget Hollywood movies during the MMFF week this December. So let’s support our homegrown talents, including those independent films,” Carlos said.
Carlos said that before the screening of the mainstream entries in the MMFF on December 25, New Wave films will be shown in three separate theaters in Metro Manila – Glorietta 4, SM Megamall and Robinsons Movieworld Manila. These include full feature films, short films, and animation films which underwent rigorous selection process headed by the committee chairs Digna Santiago and Ricky Orellana.
Carlos also said each theater will showcase booths for the finalists to give the audience the opportunity to interact with the producers and artists of the films. Likewise, MMDA personnel will be assisting in manning New Wave booths in the three movie houses where the New Wave films will be screened.
This year’s 15 indie films will showcase both veteran movie actors and young thespians.
The films in the New Wave Category, a brainchild of former MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, will be unveiled during the screening on December 17 to December 24 at the screening venues.
“We will continuously support the New Wave Section of the MMFF to give budding film makers a venue for their creativity and showcase their talents,” Carlos said.
The five Full Feature finalists are ‘Mandirigma’ written and directed by journalist-turned filmmaker Arlyn dela Cruz; ‘Toto’ starring veteran actors Bembol Roco and Bibeth Orteza and directed by John Paul Su; ‘ARI : My Life with a King’ by Carlo Encisco; ‘Turo-Turo’ by Ray An Dulay; and King Palisoc’s ‘Tandem’, which stars actor JM de Guzman and Rochelle Pangilinan of the all-girl dance group Sexbomb.
Meanwhile, ‘Ding Mangasyas (Tough Guys)’ directed by Justine Emmanuel Dizon, ‘Lapis’ by Cariaga, ‘MUMU’ by Jean Cheryl Tagyamon, ‘Momento’ by HOOQ Jan-Kyle Nieva , and ‘Daisy’ by Bryan Reyes, all made the cut in the Short Film category.
The five Animation finalists are the following:

1. The Seed by Joven Maniaol – University of Makati
2. Alamat ng Giraffe by Alyssandra Kyle Mallari-Karilyo – De La Salle College of St. Benilde
3. GEO by John Arthur Mercader – Puppeteer Animation Studio
4. Little Lights by Marie Rivelle Mallari
5. Buttons by Fancis Aldrin Ramirez – De La Salle College of St. Benilde & ToonBro Animation Studio
HOOQ, also an online entertainment service, will be presenting the winners during the MMFF Awards Night slated on December 27 at the KIA Theater in Quezon City.

Criselda Cabangon David, a happy mother of two kids, is a full-time Sociologist at the City Government of Lucena, Quezon Province. She is currently the Managing Editor of Ang Diaryo Natin Sunday News, a weekly local community newspaper in the Philippines and an active member of the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines.