Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

President Aquino honors outstanding public servants

MALACAÑANG, Philippines – President Benigno S. Aquino III on Monday commended the dedication and professionalism of the winners of this year’s Search for Outstanding Public Officials and Employees during the awarding ceremony held in Malacañang.
In his speech, the President also thanked the public servants for their contribution to the advancement of the country as he urged them to do their best to serve their fellowmen.
“Talaga pong ikinalulugod ko ang maging bahagi ng ganitong pagtitipon—ang pagkilala naman sa mga huwarang kawani ng ating pamahalaan. Sa ngalan po ng sambayanan, taos-puso akong nagpapasalamat sa dedikasyon at propesyonalismo ng ating awardees; sa pagsisilbi ninyong dangal ng gobyerno, at sa pagiging katuwang sa pagbabago,” said the President, who was assisted by Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Alicia dela Rosa-Bala and Commissioner Nieves Osorio in recognizing 28 exceptional individuals and two groups during the ceremony at the Palace’s Rizal Ceremonial Hall.
“Ang atas ko sa bawat kawani ng ating gobyerno: Tumotoo tayo sa sinumpaan nating tungkulin. Isagad natin ang lahat ng ating makakaya upang mapabuti ang kalagayan ng ating kapwa, lalo na ang mas nangangailangan. Sa malasakit at ambagan, tiyak pong nararating natin ang inaasam nating mas masagana at mas maliwanag na kinabukasan,” the Chief Executive further said.
Scientists Arsenio Ella of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and Mario Navasero of the University of the Philippines (UP) in Los Baños, Laguna; medical technologist Lilibeth Martin of the Abra Provincial Health Office; leading cybercrime advocate Gilbert Sosa of the Philippine National Police; and heroic fire officer Trixie Dagame from Tacloban City were among the winners of this year’s Search for Outstanding Public Officials and Employees, which the CSC holds annually under its Honor Awards Program, the biggest reward and incentive program for government workers.
Ella, Martin and Sosa received the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award, along with Professor Teodora Balangcod of UP Baguio; Alma Dickson of the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources; Dina Genzola of Negros Occidental Office of the Provincial Agriculturist; Roberto Guarte of the Visayas State University in Leyte; Julius Lecciones of the Philippine Children’s Medical Center; Amer Saber of Amai Pakpak Medical Center in Marawi City, Lanao del Sur; special education teacher Cecilia Vidoy of Rabat-Rocamora Mati Central School SPED Center in Davao Oriental; and Professor Jonar Yago of Nueva Vizcaya State University.
Aside from Navasero and Dagame, the other recipients of the Dangal ng Bayan Award were program supervisor Menia Alvidera of the Department of Education (DepEd) Division in Roxas City, Capiz; Maria Daisy Bercede of the Commission on Audit in Cebu City; Vivencio Claros of the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology; truck driver Roy Esteron of the National Food Authority Quirino Provincial Office; information officer Juvy Gaton of the Department of Agriculture Regional Office in Iloilo City; and director Jo Anne Haber of the Office of the President.
Presented with the CSC Pagasa Award were Danny Cachola, principal of Matucay Elementary School in Allacapan, Cagayan; teacher Jinglebert Collado of the DepEd in Tagum, Davao del Norte; Gloria dela Cruz of the Philippine Carabao Center in La Union; Virgilio Fuertes of DOST Regional Office in Cagayan de Oro City; associate professor Eunice Layugan of the Cagayan State University in Aparri, Cagayan; Luz Marcelino, chief science research specialist of the Department of Agriculture Regional Office in Pili, Camarines Sur; and Albert Ramos, senior facility technician of the Plaridel Water District in Bulacan; Ernesto Rivera, information technology officer of the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation; Mary Anne Timbreza, civil registrar of the municipal government of Tayum, Poblacion Tayum in Abra; the Commission on Elections-ITD iREHISTRO Team; and Office for Agricultural Services (Rice Group) of the provincial government of Kalinga in Tabuk City.
Winners of the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award received a gold-gilded medallion crafted by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), a Presidential plaque bearing the citation and signature of President Aquino and a cash prize of P200,000.
The Dangal ng Bayan awardees were presented with a trophy designed by National Artist for Sculpture Napoleon Abueva and P200,000 in cash while winners of the CSC Pagasa Award received a gold-gilded medallion crafted by the BSP, a plaque bearing the citation and signature of the CSC chairperson and P100,000 in cash.

Criselda Cabangon David, a happy mother of two kids, is a full-time Sociologist at the City Government of Lucena, Quezon Province. She is currently the Managing Editor of Ang Diaryo Natin Sunday News, a weekly local community newspaper in the Philippines and an active member of the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines.