Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway set to open Friday

CAVITE, Philippines – The first Public-Private Partnership (PPP) road project under the administration of President Benigno S. Aquino III is now opened to the public.
Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Rogelio L. Singson said the Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway (MCX) also known as Daang Hari-South Luzon Expressway Link Road, a 4-kilometer, 4-lane toll road that will connect Bacoor, Cavite to the South Luzon Expressway, is now ready for public use.
“The Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway will be fully operational on Friday, July 24, 2015, after its inauguration. Its soft opening is scheduled July 21-22,” said Secretary Singson.
“We are optimistic that the completion of this toll road would improve CALABARZON’s competitiveness as an investment destination,” added Singson.
MCX shall serve as an alternative route from Metro Manila to Cavite and vice versa, cutting travel time by an average of 45 minutes and decongesting traffic in Cavite, Las Piñas, and Muntinlupa area.
Likewise, it will provide new access to the National Bilibid Prison (NBP) property in Muntinlupa City, which is intended to be redeveloped into a mixed commercial, residential, and institutional estate.
The P2-billion Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway is a Public-Private Partnership project of DPWH, with Ayala Corporation as the private proponent.
It involves the construction of two (2) Segments namely: Segment 1 which starts at junction Daang Hari – Daang Reyna, Elliptical Road or Rotunda, Km 0+000 and ends in Sta. 2 +300 and Segment 2, which starts from 2+300 and ends at South Luzon Expressway near Susana Heights Interchange, Km 4+000.

Criselda Cabangon David, a happy mother of two kids, is a full-time Sociologist at the City Government of Lucena, Quezon Province. She is currently the Managing Editor of Ang Diaryo Natin Sunday News, a weekly local community newspaper in the Philippines and an active member of the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines.