Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
Kalayaan Cup Champ

Golfer Daven Naidu Dominates Kalayaan Cup in Sydney

BY RIC DE VERA   –  Fijian golfer Mr. Daven Naidu, of  Minchinbury won the 20th PAL Kalayaan cup golf tournament held at the prestigious Macquarie Links International Golf Club  last  June 8, 2015.

Anniversary Cake
Anniversary Cake
Division winners
Division winners

The tournament was held in conjunction with the 117th anniversary celebration of the proclamation of Philippine Independence.

Naidu’s  unbeatable score of 43 points under the stableford scoring system using his handicap of 23 from ParE Golf Social Club gave him the edge over the rest of the 117 participants.

He was awarded with the championship trophy, economy class return airfare to Manila courtesy of Philippine Airlines and the privilege to engrave his name in the monumental perpetual trophy.

He also received the symbolic RP flag motif jacket for his win. “(It) was a great day for me. (I) didn’t expect to win but guess I was lucky. Didn’t have a clue that I was in the running to win as there were so many other great players” said an ecstatic Daven.

Division winners were: Art Phiyasirikul for A with score of 37 points using handicap of 4 from Thai Golf Association; Romy Rablizo for B with score of 36 points using handicap of 15 from Jokers/Fairgolf; Glen Blain for C with score of 32 points using handicap of 19 from Hurstville Golf Club; and Michael Baylon for D with score of 34 points using handicap of 29 from ParE Golf. These winners received $150 cash prize, trophies and golf balls for their exceptional efforts.

Division runners up were: Buddy Nagi for A with score of 36 points using 1 handicap from Thai Golf Association; Rudy Chong for B with score of 33 points using handicap of 15 from Indonesia Golf Association; Nep Palomo for C with score of 30 points using handicap of 25 from Fil-oz and Jun dela Pena for D with score of 33 points using handicap of 30 from WSGA. For being the runners up in their divisions, these winners were awarded $100 cash prize, trophies and golf balls.

Ladies division champion Prescy Keogh  scored with  36 points using her handicap of 11 from NSW Golf & Country Club. This was closely followed by Ella Wong with score of 36 points using her 18 handicap from Moore Park Golf Club, as the runner up. They both received cash prizes and trophies donated by Toti Umali.

Novelty prize winners of $30 each on all par 3’s weny to Romy Tablizo (hole no 5), Paul Abordo (hole no 8), Helen Solazzo (hole no 11) and Art Phiyasirikul for hole no 15. No one won the best putting competition.

In her message, the Honourable Philippine Consul General in Sydney, Anne Jalando-on Louis emphasized the meaning of the term ‘Kalayaan’ which is freedom. She mentioned the theme of this year’s celebration i.e., “Tagumpay sa Pagbabagong Nasimulan, Abot-Kamay na ng Bayan” or “Triumphs through reforms, within nation’s reach”. She acknowledged the continued support of golfers from other Asian countries, congratulated Fil-oz golf club and expressed appreciation to the sponsors, particularly the national flag carrier, Philippine Airlines. She was very happy that the weather was perfect unlike in the previous years.

On his part, this writer as Fil-oz president acknowledged the support of various sponsors, particularly Ian Robinson, Country Manager of Philippine Airlines, Aris Ortanez, Marketing director of AICL/AIH Higher Education, Delfin Posada of LBC, Liz Angeles of Megaworld and R.O. Biala, CPA’s.

This writer  also expressed appreciation for the support given by different Social golf clubs presidents, namely Sutti Sutontanyakorn of Thai Golf Association; Rey Garcia of Golf ParE Social club, Ariel Pattugalan of Filcom Sports Club of Canberra, Ralph Posadas of Jokers, Dinky Baso of Indonesian Golf Association, Vangie Leones of West Sydney Golf and Prescy Keogh (both invited  Australian friends from NSW, Avondale, Concord, Moore Park and Hurstville Golf clubs)

Other  groups  represented  were  Pogi, Divotees, Fairgolf, and Puro Golf  clubs.

This writer also also thanked Jodie Kelly, Event Manager of Macquarie Links Int’l Golf Club for the use of the course and for the chef for cooking the sumptuous Filipino food lunch such as adobo, kare-kare, chicken curry, etc.

Donald Lopez, the founding president of Filoz  and  responsible for starting  the Philippine Independence day cup in 1996 was acknowledged along with Glenn Tahimic . The latter  had been the Rules and Tabulation committee head for many years. Buddy Zabat who lives nearby and assisted in negotiating for lower cost and availability of the course was also applauded.

Appreciation and thanks were extended to Mike Garcia, former PAL Sydney Manager for initiating the prize of return airfares to Manila. He was also instrumental in paving the way for golfers from Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane to participate in the annual PAL Interclub Golf tournament in the Philippines.

Philippine ConGen Anne Jalandoon Louis presided the  cutting of the  20th anniversary of the Kalayaan cup, assisted by  yours truly as  Fil-oz President, Ric de Vera, PAL Country Manager, Ian Robinson, former PAL Sydney Manager, Mike Garcia and Fil-oz founding president, Donald Lopez.

Major sponsors were LBC, AICL/AIH Education, Megaworld and R.O. Biala Pty Ltd. Aside from financial assistance AIH Higher Education supplied a box of 20 umbrellas. Toti Umali donated cash to subsidise the cost of trophies for the lady winners.

Other sponsors were Viva Travel Action, Pabico Fast Food, Sizzling Fillo Restaurant, Fiesta Blacktown, Merit Awards trophies and Bhajune Hair & Makeup.

Meanwhile, the Aguman Capampangan golf tournament held on June 7, 2015 at Rosnay Golf course was won by Fred Bacucang from Blair Athol and Pogi member. He scored 66 points under System 36 method of scoring. Division winners were Danny Martinez for A; Gavin Singh for B and Ome Gaerlan for C. These winners received cash prizes and trophies.

Novelty winners were Neil Narvaez for Drive & pitch, Rene Uy and Richard Espiritu for NTP’s, Prescy Keogh for two ladies longest drives and Nick Francis for men’s longest drive. Major raffle sponsor for return airfare to Manila was Zignal Travels care of Atoy Sayas.