Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!
AICL Golf Winners

Bernie Balagtas, Back to Back Winner of AICL Cup

AICL Golf Winners
AICL Golf Winners

Ric de  Vera, Golf Corner  Column   – Doonside resident and  current FilOz Golf Club treasurer Mr Bernie Balagtas  who won previously  the AICL Education Golf Cup previously  in 2011 and last year easily grabbed  the 11th AICL Education cup held last November 9, 2014 at Riverside Oaks Golf Resort.

Balagtas  scored gross stroke of 77 and net 70 due to his two birdies and  without triple bogey, under the System 36 method of scoring.

He received $200 cash prize and a trophy for his exceptional efforts. “I’m very happy to have won this tournament again for the third time” said an ecstatic but confident Bernie.

Division champions were Shaman Singh for A; Arnold Villamayor for B and Lorenzo Aquino for C. These division champions received $150 each as cash prize and individual trophy for their significant efforts.

Division runners up were Jonathan Espejo for Division A; Zaldy Kapulong for Division B and Roy Velasco for C.  Cash prize of $100 each and individual trophy were awarded to all these runner up winners.

All ninety (90) participants were pre-assigned in their respective division based on declared handicaps as follows: 0-18 for Division A, 19-22 for Division B and 23 or more for Division C.

Novelty hole prizes of $20 per hole were also awarded to four par 3’s as Nearest the Pins and four par 4’s for best drive and pitch.

Sumptuous barbeque dinner followed after the tournament.

During the awards presentation, Aris Ortanez, representing the major sponsors under CEG Education Group welcomed all the golfers and thanked the different Filipino-Australian golf clubs for their support. He outlined the latest development in AICL and took pride in its success through innovation.  He announced the new affiliation with Fortrust Education Services (headed by Marty de Leon from Manila) who donated the t-shirts to all participants.

Rey Garcia, the incumbent President of Golf ParE Social Club and coordinator of this year’s event took part in the presentation of minor prizes. Glen Coates, the Principal of AAMS presented the major prizes and trophies assisted by Chrisel de Leon of AICL Manila.